top of page

My first post on Excel!

Apart from working on iOS or any other coding, I really love Excel and specially Excel with VBA. I feel excel is one of the tool you can use as any kind of utility. One of the most popular usage people have is tracking their expenses. But there are many more things for those we can create Excel utilities, there are many really simple to use and easy to make utilities. I will be sharing my utilities through my blog posts. But today I would like to start with one of my excel trick that I really like and I use it most frequently.

Add Leading Zeros

One of the issue we face is when we copy paste numbers with leading zeros on excel. It removes the leading zeros, then we need to add them back again. One of they way is to add apostrophe (') and add leading zeros one by one to each cell. But that is quite time consuming. They way I use it following:

If you need to add leading zeros to following and make all of the numbers 4 digit.

Then select the numbers do right click -> Cell Formatting

Choose Category as "Custom" and in the Type write "0000" (4 zeros without quotes)

Number of zeros we write here, will make the length of each number same, regardless of the number of digits in number. But if number of digits are more than entered number of zeros, then it will not change anything.

I hope it will help some of you. I also have an excel macro that does it very quickly and saves more time. I will be sharing it soon..... So keep looking for this space for more.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page